2015 San Diego Mayor’s Award Latest Update

The San Diego Mayor’s Recognition Student Award was established in 2015 by Mayor Kevin Faulconer and ten San Diego Asian Pacific Islander American Organizations.  This award is to recognize local Asian American high school students for their hard works, academic achievements and community services.

SDAAFE has formed a 7-member selection committee over the past few weeks, consisting of well-known educators, journalists, and active community members – Ma Ping, Xing Bin, Yu Hong, Emma Wang,  Jiang Yong, Wei Qing and Yang Ying.  The application deadline for the Mayor’s Award was May 24th at 11:59PM.

All high school students with a Chinese ethnic background currently residing in San Diego county or North county are eligible to apply. Four Chinese students, selected by the SDAAFE through the award selection committee, will be announced on May 31st and two of them will receive the Mayor’s award on June 23rd in the Mayor’s office.

Total 13 applications from 8 high schools have been received and acknowledged, and all application materials have been distributed to the seven judges for selection process. Among the 13 applicants, 4 are 10th graders, 5 are 11th graders, and 4 are 12th graders, with 8 male students and 5 female students. The selection process will go through one to multiple rounds of voting among the judges.



Comments are closed.